One of the first recipes I attempted to convert when I went gluten free was pumpkin bread. I had recently found a recipe I’d loved and was determined not to give it up. Needless to say, the resulting bread was a disappointment. Disappointing enough I gave up on GF pumpkin bread. It was edible. It tasted good, particularly for my first attempt at GF baking. But it wasn’t the bread I remembered.

Fast forward 3 years. My 3 yr old and I are shopping at Trader Joes and she spots the sugar pumpkins. She wants one because her brother came home with one from a school field trip the week before. When we get home, initially she’s just happy they both now have sugar pumpkins; however, it doesn’t take long before she’s curious about why it is called a “sugar” pumpkin. I explain that this is the kind good for eating–so she decides her pumpkin needs to be eaten.

I manage to convince her that she doesn’t want to eat it raw and that it should be baked. Next I have to convince her there isn’t time to cook said pumpkin that evening, that we can’t have it for dinner or dessert. (I failed. There was much tears and gnashing of teeth).

However, this afternoon we (I) succeed in baking, pureeing, and transforming the pumpkin into a fabulous pumpkin cake and my faith in pumpkin baked goods–even gluten free ones– is restored.

And after all that my daughter, thank goodness, t did think the cake was delicious. It didn’t hurt that we added chocolate chips to the recipe and served it with ice cream.

